2022 DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY AWARDS & BANQUET

Missouri S&T's Department of Chemistry
Dr. Rainer Glaser, Chair
Dr. Jeffrey Winiarz, Assoc. Chair
April 29, 2022, at 5 PM

Di Trapani's Italian Bistro On the Square

2022 Outstanding Freshmen Awards

Afxentis Andreou Cameron Braswell
Mia R. Ehrhart Samuel Elias Hackett

Harrison James Hawxby Evan R. Jones
Emily Ohlendorf Baylun Tucker

2022 Outstanding Sophomore Awards

Jada Nicole AyarsJustin Tyler ChristensenGavin Leigh HofmeisterSamuel Jacob Spinuzzi

2022 Outstanding Junior Awards

Evan J. Anderson Justin M. Goerger

Josie Rae Glenn Georgia Grace Hamburg

Brent William Harfmann Justin D. Nulsen

Megan Rose Sly

2022 Outstanding Senior Awards

Lillian Adams Christina M. Arens
Carmen Laura Byerly Loki David Cortner
Joseph Mark Gloriod Ingrid C. Winter

Kari A. Knobbe Gladwin Bryan Labrague

Emilie Marie Overschmidt Isaiah Robertson

2022 Freshman *Primus inter Pares* Scholastic Achievement Award Awards

Primus Inter Pares awardees receive a certificate and additional scholarship support from the Department of Chemistry in the amount of \$100.

Mia R. Ehrhart Emily Ohlendorf Samuel Elias Hackett

2022 Outstanding Undergraduate Service Assistant Award (\$200)

Sara McCauley (Advisor: Dr. Glaser)

Improving STEM education relies on better collaboration between universities and high schools, and Sara is recognized for her service to improve high school education in chemistry. Having studied Belousov-Zhabotinsky oscillating reactions with new video-based colorimetry methods, Sara developed a proposal "Improving Access to STEM Education in Underserved Communities" which aimed to employ a recording device and mathematical image analysis to study titrations in high schools without the need for expensive UV/Vis spectrometers. With support from an OURE Fellow Scholarship for AY21/22 and a \$1,000 grant from the Office of Engagement, Sara implemented the project successfully, and she presented her findings at the 2021 Virtual Undergraduate Research Day at the Capitol and at the 2021 ACS Regional Meeting in Springfield.

2021 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award (\$250)

Vaibhav Edlabadkar (Adviser: Dr. Sotiriou-Leventis)

Vaibhav is very conscientious, knowledgeable, reliable, and likeable by the students. He is very patient and can always find different ways to explain difficult concepts in easy-to-understand ways. Students considered him as a "true homie".

Harish Singh (Adviser: Dr. Nath)

Harish is a very efficient, sincere, and hard-working GTA with attention to details. He guides students through challenging experiments, ensuring that they reach desired goals. He is always ready to troubleshoot whenever and wherever necessary.

Santhosh Sundaramoorthy (Adviser: Dr. Choudhury)

Through his work and personality, Santhosh has become a role model for teaching CHEM 1319 as GTA and section instructor. His long-standing experience and well-developed communication skills has made him highly respected by his peers.

2022 Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant Award (\$250)

Srikanth Balijapellly (Adviser: Dr. Choudhury)

Srikanth is a serious researcher who truly cares about research for its own sake, rather than as a mean to advance his career. He is a quick learner and good interpreter of data, and he projects a demeanor of thoughtfulness and independence.

Apurv Saxena (Adviser: Dr. Nath)

Apurv is cheerful, diligent, hard-working student who is also very inquisitive, showing genuine desire to learn. His academic maturity, sincerity and self-motivation are some of his biggest assets which have led him to a successful research career.

Buddhabhushan Salunke (Adviser: Dr. Schuman)

Bhushan is talented, thoughtful, creative, and extremely hard working. He goes above and beyond to help and improve himself. He contributes ideas openly and collaboratively and is productive even under most difficult of circumstances.

2022 Outstanding Dept. of Chemistry Staff Award (\$400)

Magdalena Zawodniok, Business Support Specialist II

Ms. Magdalena Zawodniok is richly deserving of this award in recognition for her achievement in calendar year 2021. Magdalena joined the Department Office late in 2019 as Office Support Assistant IV and she quickly got on top of undergraduate and graduate academic affairs in a well-organized, effective, and responsible manner. With her mentor Tammy Heldenbrand moving on in FS21, Magdalena officially became her successor as Business Support Specialist II in December 2021. Beginning in October 2021 and well into SP22, Magdalena basically has been attending to the business of two full jobs while the search for her OSA-II successor was progressing. In chemistry parlance, Magdalena is recognized for her excellent demonstration of superb "resonance."

20 Years' Service Anniversary Award

Dr. Nathan Leigh, Assistant Research Director

Our employees are our greatest asset and recognition of their service to the Missouri University of Science and Technology is important to us. The university presents employees who have reached milestones in their career with a certificate honoring their contributions, beginning with five years of service. This award is presented on behalf of the Missouri University of Science and Technology to Dr. Nathan Leigh in recognition of his 20 Years' Service Anniversary on March 4, 2022.