# 2020 DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY AWARDS & BANQUET

Missouri S&T's Department of Chemistry

Dr. Rainer Glaser, Chair

Awarded in early 2021, delayed because of the pandemic.

## **Outstanding Freshmen Awards**

Justin Goerger Kathrine Tooley

## **Outstanding Sophomore Awards**

Gladwin Bryan Labrague Isaiah Robertson
Adam Willett Christina Arens
Ingrid Winter Carmen Byerly

## **Outstanding Junior Awards**

Lillian Adams Joseph Gloriod
Kari Knobbe Gabriel Pleimann

## **Outstanding Senior Awards**

Zachary Foulks Emily King
Rachel Nixon Loki Cortner
Daniel Greenan Olivia Money

**Lucas Dyer** 

# Excellence in Undergraduate Research Scholarship Awards, American Chemical Society, South Central Missouri

Started in 2018, the ACS Local Section's Undergraduate Research Scholarship recognizes 1 or 2 undergraduate students who have shown exemplary performance in the research laboratory through activities such as peer-reviewed publications and conference presentations as well as looking at criterion such as faculty recommendation and GPA. To be eligible, students must submit an application with their research in journal format to the local ACS section along with a cover letter and recommendation letter

from their faculty advisor. The recipient(s) of the scholarship receive a certificate and \$500 from the local section and are commemorated with their names engraved in the award plaque which hangs in Schrenk Hall. In 2020, the "Excellence in Undergraduate Research Scholarship" awards go to...

#### Joshua Isert and Christopher Dempsey

## 2020 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award (\$250)

#### **Shuo Yang** (Advisor: Dr. Wang)

Nominated for Chem 4619 (Biochemistry Lab). Shuo is a highly organized and dedicate GTA who helped students to not only perform their experiments, but also to gain a better understanding of the concepts in biochemistry. His teaching excellence was recognized with high evaluation scores as well as favorable comments from the students touting him as "one of the favorite TAs".

#### Brian Jameson (Adviser: Dr. Glaser)

Nominated for Chem 4297 (Organic Synthesis and Spectroscopic Analysis). Brian has applied his acquired skills in chemical methodology to teach, instruct, and interact with students of this course that has made teaching of this course much more effective and smoother. His combination of skills, demeanor, and commitment to assist students is above and beyond that of typical graduate student.

#### Nicole Moon (Adviser: Dr. Grubbs)

Nominated for Chem 3459 (Accelerated Physical Chemistry Laboratory) and Chem 1310 (General Chemistry I). Nicole's excellent capability of combining concepts and solving a problem from multiple angles makes her an asset in any chemical teaching environment. As mentioned by the instructor, "Nicole is also timely, organized, and cordial making instructing a class with her a true delight".

## 2020 Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant Award (\$250)

The Graduate Affairs Committee forwarded two nomination only.

## Prashant Sandineni (Adviser: Dr. Choudhury)

Prashant made significant contributions to the area of sodium and Li-ion batteries by designing novel cathode materials with promise to deliver superior performance by employing principles of solid state chemistry bringing recognition to our department. His research findings were published in high impact journals such as Journal of Materials Chemistry A, Journal of Solid State Chemistry, and Inorganic Chemistry, where he was one of the primary authors.

### Shuohan Huang (Adviser: Dr. Mochalin)

Shuohan's research has added valuable insight into MXene chemistry helping to advance understanding of the reactivity of this family of 2-dimensional materials that has attracted significant attention in the community. Her research findings have been published in high-quality journals such as Nature Communications and ACS Nano, where Shuohan is one of the primary authors.

## 2020 Outstanding Graduate Service Assistant Award (\$250)

#### Amanda Duerden (Advisor: Dr. Grubbs)

Amanda has been demonstrating an outstanding level of advocacy for the Department of Chemistry and on campus, during the week as well as on weekends. Amanda volunteered on countless occasions to serve as competent, friendly, and mindful graduate student representative in undergraduate admission events, in graduate recruiting activities, and in Colloquium related net-working events.

## 2020 Outstanding Department of Chemistry Staff Award (\$400)

#### **David Satterfield**

Dave is richly deserving of this award and especially so in the calendar year 2019. Dave was involved directly in all renovation projects and the migrations of the Teaching Labs and the Shared Instrument Lab to the newly renovated West wing of Schrenk Hall. Moreover, he contributed substantially to the inventory and organization of instrumentation assets in the department (https://chem.mst.edu/research/depart-instr/).

# 2020 Wilbur Tappmeyer Excellence in Teaching Award (\$500)

The Personnel Committee did not forward any nominations.