# 2019 DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY AWARDS & BANQUET

Hosted by Missouri S&T's Department of Chemistry
Dr. Rainer Glaser, Chair
April 12, 2019 at 7 PM, Matt's Steak House

## **Outstanding Freshmen Awards**

**Lillian Adams** 

**Carmen Byerly** 

**Loki Cortner** 

Kari Knobbe

Gladwin Labrague

**Gabriel Pleimann** 

Isaiah Robertson (in absentia)

Collin Todd, B.A. student

# CRC Freshman Achievement & Handbook Award Recipients

Given to top students in the freshman chemistry program of outstanding scholastic achievement. This year we have the honor of presenting 4 of these awards.

Lillian Adams, FYRE student with Dr. Dolan in English

Kari Knobbe, Dr. Glaser research group

Gladwin Labrague, Dr. Schuman research group

Gabriel Pleimann, Dr. Glaser research group

## Outstanding Sophomore Awards

**Kaysi Lee**, former FYRE student, received freshman & CRC award **Alyssa Weyl**, Chem 1310 PLA; received freshman award **Daniel Greenan**, received freshman award

## **Outstanding Junior Awards**

Joel Borcherding, Dr. Schuman group; received freshman award
Lucas Dyer, iGEM research and president; received sophomore, freshman awards
Zachary Foulks, Dr. Shi group; received sophomore, freshman & CRC awards

## Outstanding Junior Awards (cont.)

Emily King, Dr. Shi group; received sophomore, freshman & CRC awards

Olivia Money, Dr. Ercal group

**Rachel Nixon**, Dr. Wang group; Bottom fellowship; received sophomore, freshman & CRC awards

Nicole Wheeler, Dr. Shi group; received sophomore award

## **Outstanding Senior Awards**

**Matthew Cordia**, Dr. Stavropoulos group; received junior, sophomore, freshman awards, in absentia

**Nicole Moon**, Dr. Grubbs group; received junior, sophomore, freshman awards **Jennifer See**, Dr. Nath group; received junior award, in absentia

## American Chemical Society, South Central Missouri

Drs. Laura and Smitty Grubbs presenting. Laura is the ACS Local Section Secretary and Smitty is the local section treasurer.

Started in 2018, the ACS Local Section's Undergraduate Research Scholarship recognizes 1 or 2 undergraduate students who have shown exemplary performance in the research laboratory through activities such as peer-reviewed publications and conference presentations as well as looking at criterion such as faculty recommendation and GPA. To be eligible, students must submit an application with their research in journal format to the local ACS section along with a cover letter and recommendation letter from their faculty advisor. The recipient(s) of the scholarship receive a certificate and \$500 from the local section and are commemorated with their names engraved in the award plaque which hangs in Schrenk Hall. This year, the award goes to...

Zachary Foulks and Rachel Nixon

## Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award (\$250)

Xi Cao (Advisor: Dr. Nath)

Xi is perhaps the ideal graduate student one can ask for, sincere, motivated, goal-driven, creative, and mature, who can do outstanding research and fulfill teaching responsibilities with the same gusto.

### Amanda Duerden (Advisor: Dr. Grubbs)

In the PCHEM lab, Amanda has had a hand in designing and executing 3 new laboratories this year! In her other responsibility as a General Chemistry TA, Amanda is always requested due to her ability to teach and relay chemical principles to a wide variety of students of different educational backgrounds.

#### Frank Marshall (Advisor: Dr. Grubbs)

Frank has been an excellent TA for many years. Along with essentially training Amanda for her run as the new PCHEM TA, Frank is efficient with learning and executing new laboratory experiments. Furthermore, he is excellent at emphasizing the important educational points of a lab practical. These skills have served him well as both as a PCHEM and General Chemistry lab instructor and the students in the classes recognize these attributes in him immediately after starting a teaching lab course.

# Outstanding Graduate Research Award (\$250)

Xi Cao (Advisor: Dr. Nath)

Xi is designing novel electrocatalysts for water splitting reactions and understanding their catalytic activity through DFT and band structure calculations.

#### Frank Marshall (Advisor: Dr. Grubbs)

Frank has designed and built one chirped pulse Fourier transform microwave (CP-FTMW) spectrometer and he is currently working on his second device with three-wave mixing capability.

#### Parwani Rewatkar (Advisor: Dr. Sotiriou-Leventis)

Parwani has developed new synthetic methodology for the carbothermal synthesis of highly porous but sturdy ceramic and pure metallic aerogels from polymer cross-linked metal oxide xerogel powders.

#### Sangeeta Sur (Advisor: Dr. Dawes)

Sangeeta research is in the area of theoretical studies of the spectroscopy and dynamics of small gas-phase molecules relevant to atmospheric chemistry. In particular, she has been investigating the dynamics of ozone formation in the stratosphere.

#### Tahereh Taghvaee (Advisor: Dr. Leventis)

Tara developed the so-called K-index as the ratio of openness to texture. She demonstrated that her K-index can be an accurate numerical descriptor of complex nanomorphology, and showed a correlation between nanomorphology and synthetic conditions.

## **Graduate Student Service Award (\$250)**

## Ming Huang (Advisor: Dr. Woelk)

Ming Huang has served the department multiple years as "NMR TA", assisting faculty and students with NMR spectroscopy. It was Ming's keen knowledge of NMR, her many extra hours of unrelenting work, and her pleasant personality that made her the go-to person whenever tasks and questions arose regarding NMR spectroscopy. Her service to department and campus is honored today with the inaugural departmental graduate student service award.

over

# Outstanding Staff Award (\$500)

#### **Shannon Roark**

Shannon joined the Chemistry Department in 2012 and retired just a month ago. He started as a secretary and was promoted to administrative assistant in 2014. Shannon has provided faithful service with kindness and a smile all these years. We will miss him and want to honor him for his years of service in our department.

#### Tina Balch

Tina has been with the Chemistry Department since 2014, coming up on her five years of service in July. Tina started as secretary for undergraduate and graduate students and she has become the "mother of the department".

# Wilbur Tappmeyer Excellence in Teaching Award (\$500)

**Dr. Richard Dawes** 

Dr. Nuran Ercal

Dr. Lia Sotiriou-Leventis

Dr. Klaus Woelk (in absentia)